The Sustainability Advisory Committee (SAC) was established by the Albany Common Council to help the City adopt and promote sustainable practices and to foster unified action on climate change.  The SAC is expected to study and recommend methods to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, increase energy efficiency and renewable energy production, conserve resources, reduce waste, and employ environmentally-responsible products.

The SAC also works in coordination with the Mayor’s Office of Sustainability (MOE&S) to reach sustainable goals and best practices, and has the authority to create sub-committees to focus on specific topics such as Energy, Equity, Transportation, Water, Waste and Food Systems.  The Committee is also expected to assist MOE&S in the implementation and monitoring of the City’s adapted sustainable plans:  Albany 2030 Climate Action Plan, the Climate Change Vulnerability Assessment & Adaptation Plan, NYPA's Five Cites Energy Plan for Albany, and the Capital Region Sustainability Plan.  

You can contact the SAC by email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or by contacting MOE&S.

Attend a Sustainability Advisory Committee Meeting

Meetings for the SAC are open to the public and take place at 5:30pm in the City Court Room on the second floor of City Hall.  The meeting schedule for 2015-16 is listed below.

Tues., September 22, 2015
Tues., October 20, 2015
Tues., December 8, 2015
Thur., February 25, 2016
Thur., April 28, 2016
Thur., June 23, 2016

The minutes for SAC meetings can be found here.

SAC Annual Report

The SAC is tasked with providing an annual report to the Common Council and the Mayor.

Below is the SAC's first Annual Report, which summarizes the committee's recommendations for incorporating sustainability into City operations, and how to best engage Albany's citizens in sustainability issues. 

2015 SAC Annual Report

Subcommittee Reports

Each SAC subcommittee reported to the larger committee on their activities and recommendations. This information was then captured in the annual report. The original SAC subcommittee reports are available below:
2015 Built Environment & Land Use Subcommittee Report
2015 Urban Ag Subcommittee Report
2015 Energy Subcommittee Report
2015 Outreach Subcommittee Report
2015 Transportation Subcommittee Report

Sustainability Advisory Committee Members

Peter Fleischer is a Strategy Consultant with the Urban School Food Alliance.

Jillian Kasow is the Director of the NYS Senate Legislative Commission on Rural Resources.

Scott Kellogg is the Educational Director at the Radix Ecological Sustainability Center, a non-profit environmental education organization in Albany.

Shadi Khadivi is an architect at the New York State Office of General Services: Division of Construction and Design.

Sandra Misiewicz, AICP, is a Senior Transportation Planner II with the Capital District Transportation Committee (CDTC), the Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Capital Region.

Lori Quillen is the Director of Communications at the Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, a not-for-profit environmental research organization.

Pete Sheehan is a utility analyst at the New York State Department of Public Service where he works on renewable energy and energy efficiency initiatives.

Ewa Sobczynska is an International Development specialist and has worked on sustainability issues with an array of international organizations, NGOs, and research institutes.

Jennifer Viggiani is the Open Space Coordinator for Clifton Park, where she works to conserve natural lands for public access and farmland and manages economic growth through land use patterns.

Joseph Coffey is the Commissioner of the City of Albany Department of Water and Water Supply.

Randall Milano is Albany's City Engineer.

Christopher Spencer is the Planning Director for the City of Albany.

William Trudeau is the Traffic Coordinator for the City of Albany.

Frank Zeoli is the Director of Operations for Albany's Department of General Services.